Notifications
Clear all

Need advise transitioning into industry abroad

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@zjaramsaygmail-com)
Topic starter  

I am a medical doctor in the Caribbean. I have worked on clinical trials as a sub-investigator on multiple clinical trials over the last 3 years, including a major FDA trial. This includes experiences working with IQVIA. I do not have a green card. This year I will finish a MSc in Epidemiology. 

I am trying to figure out how to get it into industry in the USA, UK or Canada. Preference is the US then Canada then the UK. I'm not very clear on the specific role but I have a high interest in clinical trials management, statistics and business in general. I would even be interested in drug marketing and sales from an admin point of view, but I would prefer to keep my role more scientific.

Here are my questions:

Any really good short courses or certificates that would spring board me into the foreign industry?

Any good short degrees like one year Masters you would recommend, that also have some funding opportunities?

Any good books or resources you recommend to really set me on the right path? Especially since I am fairly clueless here on how to move forward.

Best routes in general considering immigration difficulties?

DX
 DX
(@dx)
Estimable Member

Hi TrialDoc:

I'll answer your question in order received then give my recommendatons.

1. There are no certificate or degree programs I recommend that would meet your foreign ambitions - from an investment perspective you'd get low returns.  There are some antiquated, if not, mythical views that a certificate or degree program on top of an already achieved "big degree" can help - waste of time.

2. There are a variety of resources on the internet that can help you understand career paths - I'd start there, no books to recommend per se. Also recommend you do informational interviews to understand and narrow down your path.